Doctoral Music Composition: “The Winds–The Whispers–The Whisperers” for Chamber Ensemble


  • ศุภพร สุวรรณภักดี
  • วีรชาติ เปรมานนท์ Faculty of fine and applied arts, Chulalongkorn university


Composition, Folk Tune, Cross-Cultural Musical Idioms


The doctoral music composition focuses on the cross cultural aspects of the music of the hill tribes, Hmong, Black Lahu and Red Lahu found in the Pang Mapha district of the Mae Hong Son province in Thailand. The work combines the re-interpretation of idiomatic materials as well as the transmission of cultural knowledge through educational performances.The research is expressed through three musical compositions entitled: 1) ‘The Winds’ for Viola Solo. An experimental piece exploring the idea of indeterminacy. 2) ‘The Whispers’ for viola, clarinet and piano. 3) ‘The Whisperers’ for string quartet. Based on the idea of rhapsodic variations and motivic developments. The results reveal that these last two inter-connected compositions approach various aspects of the culture and music of the hill tribes from a novel and contemporary perspective. Secondly, it can be maintain the essence of the original tune.


Download data is not yet available.

Author Biography

ศุภพร สุวรรณภักดี

นิสิตปริญญาเอก คณะศิลปกรรมศาสตร์ จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย

ศศ.ม. (ดนตรี) วิทยาลัยดุริยางคศิลป์ มหาวิทยาลัยมหิดล

ดศ.บ. (การแสดงดนตรี) คณะดุริยางคศาสตร์ มหาวิทยาลัยศิลปากร


1. ณัชชา พันธุ์เจริญ. พจนานุกรมศัพท์ดุริยางคศิลป์. พิมพ์ครั้งที่ 3. กรุงเทพฯ: เกศกะรัต, 2552.

2. Bartók, Béla. Au Quatuor Pro Arte: 4th String Quartet. London: Boosey & Hawkes, 1939.

3. Blacking, John. Music in Society and Cultures How Musical Is Man?. London: University of Washington Press, 1973.

4. Bruch, Max. Eight Pieces Op. 83 for Clarinet, Viola and Piano. Munich: G. Henle Verlag, 2008.

5. Clayton, Martin, Dueck, Byron and Laura Leante. Experience and Meaning in Music Performance. New York: Oxford University Press, 2013.

6. Cope, David. Techniques of the Contemporary Composer. London: Prentice Hall International, 1997.

7. Debussy, Claude. String Quartet No. 1 Opus 1. Paris: Kalmus Miniature Orchestra Scores, 1893.

8. Levin, Robert. "Improvising Mozart." In Musical Improvisation: Art, Education, and Society, edited by Solis, Gabriel and Bruno Nettl, 143-149. Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press, 2009.

9. Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Trio in E-Flat Majeur Kv 498 “Kegelstatt." Kassel, GER: Bärenreiter, 1656.

10. Ravel, Maurice. Quartour Pour Instriments a Cordes. 2nd ed. Paris: Societe Musicale 1905.

11. Persichetti, Vincent. Extention and Imitation Twentieth-Century Harmony : Creative Aspects and Practice. New York: W.W. Norton, 1961.





บทความวิจัย | Research Article